Michael Phelps will always be the greatest of all time but he’s not this year’s swimmer of the year. Heck, he didn’t even go a best time in 2016.

Ryan Fitzgerald Murphy is undoubtedly the SWIMNERD Male Swimmer of the Year for 2016.

Let’s recap his NCAA season:

50 Back: Fastest in the History of Man (20.20)

100 Back: Fastest in the History of Man (43.49)

200 Back: Fastest in the History of Man (1:35.73)

Let’s recap his first Olympic experience:

100 Back: Gold (51.97)

200 Back: Gold (1:53.62)

400 MR: Breaks Aaron Peirsol’s long standing 100 WR as lead off to the Gold medal winning relay (51.85)

And, to top it all off, the guy is a straight up class act in real life. Listen to any interview with him. He’s honest, humble, and all about the process.

USA men won Gold in both backstrokes in 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012, and 2016. Thank you Ryan Murphy for continuing America’s winning ways in the backstroke events.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.